Home » Magazine » Cycling » Time Trial Champion Rohan Dennis to Lead BMC Roster in UCI World Championships

Time Trial Champion Rohan Dennis to Lead BMC Roster in UCI World Championships



Australian rider Rohan Dennis will lead BMC Racing into the team time trial at the upcoming UCI Road World Championships. Dennis only recently claimed victory in two time trials at the Vuelta a Espana, now his team is hopeful to recreate the 2015 victory under the leadership of the Australian national time trial champion.


Ever since it was first revived in 2012, BMC has claimed victory in the event twice – in 2014 and 2015 – but the impressive team has found a place on the podium every year except 2013.


The team is now in its last year of BMC configuration which makes them even more determined to claim their third and final victory in the final year of  trade-team-based event, as announced by UCI.

Jim Ochowicz, the general manager of BMC says that team time trials have always been his players’ favorite cycling race and one that they have aimed for since 2012.


Disappointing news


The fact that there will be no more team time trials after this championship is a bit disappointing but it serves as a source of motivation for the players to ride it out one last time and bring home the gold medal – especially in the memory of BMC’s late owner Andy Rihs.


On Sunday, September 25, Dennis will be joined at the start line by teammates, Damiano Caruso, Patrick Bevin, Greg Van Avermaet, Stefan Küng and Tejay van Garderen

Jackson Stewart, the director of BMC, said that each of the players at the start line have achieved individual accomplishment at time trials, and their collective power will translate into victory for the team in the team time trial category.


Stewart explained that Sunday’s racing course is long is significantly challenging because of its steep climb which is why he designed the roster accordingly, naming the six best players in his team to compete in the 2018 world championships.


He added that making the roster selection for the championships is never easy but he is confident that the team is in good hands under the leadership of Dennis who is the best player when it comes to racing on flatter course but can tackle the climb just as well.


Posted on Categories Cycling, News & StoriesTags , , , , , ,
Would you like to write with us? got some interesting stories and experiences you would like to share? please email them to [email protected]

  Giro d’Italia route for 2019 is finally revealed and we couldn’t be happier with it. Froome also agrees with us saying that the 102nd route of next season’s Giro is definitely an “explosive” one.   Giro d’Italia 2019 ? Week 1 ? Stages 1 > 9 ? 11th-19th May…


  Next season will see Ben Swift returning to Team Sky after being part of UAE Team Emirates for two years.   It was Team Sky who gave the big news of Swift getting back to his old family which he first joined in 2010 when the squad was formed.…


  Movistar’s Alejandro Valverde, 38, says that neither injury nor age has slowed him down in his career, and his performance has improved even more as he has grown older.   The world champion said in an interview with El País that he is winning more races now than ever…


  In his latest book, Bradley Wiggins called Lance Armstrong the ‘perfect winner’ of Tour de France. He said that the racing legend was driven but ‘borderline sociopathic’.   Wiggins claimed victory in 2012 Tour de France. But, four years later, a cyber hacking group revealed that the champion had actually…


Race Calendars