Home » Magazine » Cycling » Meet the Australian team for Commonwealth Games 2018

Meet the Australian team for Commonwealth Games 2018

commonwealth games 2018


Australia shows some ambitious goals for the 2018 Commonwealth Games which will take place in April. The home nation has already made public its 36-rider team which will be part of the road, mountain and track cycling disciplines.


A few of the stars the men’s road squad features include Mitchelton-Scoot and also teammates Cameron Meyer and Alexander Edmondson. 2006 champion Mathew Hayman is also part of this year’s AU squad for Commonwealth Games.


As for Edmondson, the national road race champion, the event marks his first road performance at the Commonwealth Games after winning both, gold and silver in 2014 in the track discipline in Glasgow.


“I have very fond memories of the 2014 Commonwealth Games from Glasgow, so I am really excited about lining up in the road race in 2018. Of course being a home games there’s a bit of added pressure, but we are going to have a home crowd cheering us on which is going to be huge,” said Edmondson.



An impressive women’s road squad


The women’s road squad is also an impressive selection of high cycling figures that have decided to become part of the Commonwealth Games representing Australia. The team features Tiffany Cromwell, Katrin Garfoot, Chloe Hosking (her third selection for the Commonwealth Games), Gracie Elvin and Katrin Garfoot among others.


“It’s a bit of a pinch yourself moment. To think I represented Australia at 20 in Delhi and I’m still racing and still getting stronger and still pulling on the green and gold. I never would have dreamt this growing up,” Hosking, the 2010 Commonwealth Games’ bronze winner, said.



Australian Squad For the 2018 Commonwealth Games




Tiffany Cromwell

Katrin Garfoot

Chloe Hosking

Gracie Elvin

Mitch Docker

Shannon Malseed

Mathew Hayman

Sarah Roy

Steele von Hoff

Alex Edmondson

Cameron Meyer

Callum Scotson




Georgia Baker

Ashlee Ankudinoff

Amy Cure

Alex Manly

Rebecca Wiasak

Leigh Howard

Kelland O’Brien

Jordan Kerby

Jacob Schmid

Cameron Meyer

Nicholas Yallouris

Alex Porter

Sam Welsford

Kaarle McCulloch

Stephanie Morton

Pat Constable

Nathan Hart

Matthew Glaetzter

Mountain Bike


Daniel McConnell

Rebecca McConnell




Bradley Henderson/Thomas Clarke

Jess Gallagher/Madison Janssen



  Giro d’Italia route for 2019 is finally revealed and we couldn’t be happier with it. Froome also agrees with us saying that the 102nd route of next season’s Giro is definitely an “explosive” one.   Giro d’Italia 2019 ? Week 1 ? Stages 1 > 9 ? 11th-19th May…


  Next season will see Ben Swift returning to Team Sky after being part of UAE Team Emirates for two years.   It was Team Sky who gave the big news of Swift getting back to his old family which he first joined in 2010 when the squad was formed.…


  Movistar’s Alejandro Valverde, 38, says that neither injury nor age has slowed him down in his career, and his performance has improved even more as he has grown older.   The world champion said in an interview with El País that he is winning more races now than ever…


  In his latest book, Bradley Wiggins called Lance Armstrong the ‘perfect winner’ of Tour de France. He said that the racing legend was driven but ‘borderline sociopathic’.   Wiggins claimed victory in 2012 Tour de France. But, four years later, a cyber hacking group revealed that the champion had actually…


Race Calendars