Home » Magazine » Cycling » Mallorca Challenge: John Degenkolb takes second victory (Video)

Mallorca Challenge: John Degenkolb takes second victory (Video)

John Degenkolb


Trek-Segafredo’s Degenkolb grabs his second victory in Mallorca Challenge winning two out of four challenges and having a perfect start of the new season.


German sprinter seems to have taken the four-day challenge as his way of showing his hard preparation and training work taking the Trofeo Palma earlier today with an impressive sprint.


Degenkolb’s first victory took place on Thursday when he took the Trofeo Campos-Porreres-Felanitx-Ses Salines. Today, he fought hard to impressively outsprint Erik Baska (Bora-Hansgrohe) who was able to finish in the second place and Coen Vermeltfoort (Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij) who took third.


“I am so happy. I think it’s the first time I have won the first two races in a season, that’s a first for me,” Degenkolb expressed. “To have this feeling, which I missed so much last year and now I have it already twice… It’s so nice to be in the winning line again.”


The second and third races of the four-day challenge saw Degenkolb not getting involved in the hillier outings at the Mallorca Challenge. He is now enjoying the two victories he got from the first, opening day challenge and the last one in Palma.





John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek-Segafredo   3:47:29

Erik Baska (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe

Coen Vermeltfoort (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij

Enrique Sanz Unzue (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias

Carlos Barbero (Spa) Movistar Team

Albert Torres Barcelo (Spa) Inteja Dominican

Jordi Warlop (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise

José Rojas (Spa) Movistar Team

Leonardo Basso (Ita) Team Sky

Xavier Canellas (Spa) Spain

Jesus Ezquerra Muela (Spa) Burgos BH

Kevyn Ista (Bel) WB Aqua Protect Veranclassic

Romain Le Roux (Fra) Team Fortuneo-Samsic

Benjamin Declercq (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise

Jon Ander Insausti (Spa) Team Eusadi

Gonzalo Serrano Rodriguez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA

Eduard Prades Reverter (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias

Jasper De Buyst (Bel) Lotto Soudal

Michal Golas (Pol) Team Sky

Hector Saez Benito (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Froome to join Giro d'Italia in 2018

  Giro d’Italia route for 2019 is finally revealed and we couldn’t be happier with it. Froome also agrees with us saying that the 102nd route of next season’s Giro is definitely an “explosive” one.   Giro d’Italia 2019 ? Week 1 ? Stages 1 > 9 ? 11th-19th May…


  Next season will see Ben Swift returning to Team Sky after being part of UAE Team Emirates for two years.   It was Team Sky who gave the big news of Swift getting back to his old family which he first joined in 2010 when the squad was formed.…


  Movistar’s Alejandro Valverde, 38, says that neither injury nor age has slowed him down in his career, and his performance has improved even more as he has grown older.   The world champion said in an interview with El País that he is winning more races now than ever…


  In his latest book, Bradley Wiggins called Lance Armstrong the ‘perfect winner’ of Tour de France. He said that the racing legend was driven but ‘borderline sociopathic’.   Wiggins claimed victory in 2012 Tour de France. But, four years later, a cyber hacking group revealed that the champion had actually…


Race Calendars