Everything to know about Spring Classics 2018. Key races, reports...
Home » Magazine » Cycling » Everything to know about Spring Classics 2018. Key races, reports…

Everything to know about Spring Classics 2018. Key races, reports…

the classics 2018

The Classics are known to be the most important one-day cycling races which usually take part in the Northern Europe during spring time.


The Spring Classics aka Northern Classics, are able to attract hundreds of riders from all across the Europe and that is why there is often a strong debate over which race should be considered as a Classic and which shouldn’t.


However, despite the fact which event deserves to be called a Classic, both fans and riders are going after them which consist in five Monuments and the semi-Classics ones.

Usually, the Classics are seen as way more entertaining and dynamic than Grand Tours or similar stage races.


the classics


Guide to the Spring Classics 2018


Race: Omloop Het Nieuwsblad


Cobbled Classic

Date: Saturday, 24th February

Place: Gent, Belgium

Distance: 200km / 130km

Most wins: Joseph Bruyère (three), Ernest Sterckx, Peter Van Petegem (two)

TV coverage: 1345-1545, Eurosport (Live)


Race: Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne


Cobbled Classic

Date: Sunday 25th February

Place: Kuurne to Brussels and then back to Kuurne

Distance: 200km

Most wins: Tom Boonen (three)

TV coverage: 1330-1600, Eurosport (live)


Race: Strade Bianche


Date: Saturday 3rd March

Place: Tuscany, Italy

Distance: 176km / 103km

Last winner: Michal Kwiatkowski

Most wins: Fabian Cancellara (three)

TV coverage: 1300-1430, Eurosport (live)


Race: Milan-San Remo



Date: Saturday 17th March

Place: Milan to San Remo, Italy

Distance: 295km

Most recent winner: Vincenzo Nibali

Most wins: Eddy Merckx (seven)

TV coverage: 1315-1600, Eurosport (live)


Race: E3 Harelbeke


Cobbled Classic

Time: Friday 23rd March

Place: Harelbeke, Belgium

Distance: 200km

Last winner: Greg Van Avermaet

Most wins: Tom Boonen (five)


Race: Gent-Wevelgem


Cobbled Classic

Time: Sunday 25th March

Place: Deinze (south of Gent) to Wevelgem

Distance: 240km / 115km

Last Winner: Greg Van Avermaet

Most wins: Robert Van Eenaeme, Rik Van Looy, Tom Boonen, Eddy Merckx, Mario Cipollini (three each)

TV coverage: 1330-1630, Eurosport (live)


Race: Dwars Door Vlaanderen


Cobbled Classic

Time: Wednesday 28th March

Place: Roeselare to Waregem, Belgium

Distance: 200km

Last winner: Yves Lampaert

Most wins: Amy Pieters (three) + 12 riders (male)

TV coverage: 1330-1600, Eurosport (live)


Race: Tour of Flanders


Monument / Cobbled Classic

Time: Sunday 1st April

Place: Flanders region, Belgium

Distance: 260km

Last winner: Philippe Gilbert

Most wins: Achiel Buysse, Johan Museeuw, Fiorenzo Magni, Eric Leman, Tom Boonen, Fabian Cancellara (three each)

TV coverage: 0915-1100 and 1230-1600, Eurosport (live)


Race: Scheldeprijs


Cobbled Classic

Time: Wednesday 4th April

Place: Antwerp, Belgium

Distance: 155km

Last winner: Marcel Kittel

Most wins: Marcel Kittel (four)

TV coverage: 1430-1630, Eurosport (live)


Race: Paris-Roubaix


Monument / Cobbled Classic

Time: Sunday 8th April

Place: (North of) Paris to Roubaix, France

Distance: 260km

Last winner: Greg Van Avermaet

Most wins: Roger De Vlaeminck and Tom Boonen (four each)

TV coverage: 1000-1600, Eurosport (live)


Race: Brabantse Pijl


Time: Wednesday 11th April

Place: Brabant, Belgium

Distance: 205.3km

Last winner: Sonny Colbrelli

Most wins: Edwig Van Hooydonck (four)

TV coverage: 1430-1645, Eurosport (live)


Race: Amstel Gold


Ardennes Classic

Time: Sunday 15th April

Place: Limburg, the Netherlands

Distance: 250km

Last winner: Philippe Gilbert / Anna van der Breggen

Most wins: Jan Raas (five)

TV coverage: 1345-1615, Eurosport  (live)


Race: Tro-Bro Leon


Time: Sunday 15th April

Place: Brittany, France

Distance: Includes 30km of cobbles, gravel and unmade roads

Last winner: Damien Gaudin

Most wins: Philippe Dalibard (three)


Race: Flèche Wallonne


Ardennes Classic

Time: Wednesday 18th April

Place: Wallonia, Belgium

Distance: 199.5km

Last winner: Alejandro Valverde / Anna van der Breggen

Most wins: Alejandro Valverde (five)

TV coverage: 1330-1600, Eurosport (live)


Race: Liège-Bastogne-Liège


Monument / Ardennes Classic

Time: Sunday 22nd April

Place: Liège to Bastogne and back again, Belgium

Distance: 260km

Last winner: Wout Poels

Most wins: Eddy Merckx (five)

TV coverage: 1300-1600, Eurosport (live)


Race: Il Lombardia


Monument  ÂÂ

Time: Autumn

Place: Lombardy region, Italy

Distance: 255km

Last winner: Esteban Chaves

Most wins: Fausto Coppi (five)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  The new World Champion Alejandro Valverde claims that he strongly believes the sport of cycling is in “great health” when reporters asked him whether the sport is clean.   Valverde, 38, just won his first World Championship title while in Innsbruck, Austria after beating his rivals in an impressive…


  The former West Fargo coach of the girls swimming, Ronald Hehn, claimed that he was kicked out of the pool at the Hulbert Aquatic Center, for no apparent reason.   According to the former coach, who was fired a few weeks ago after claims for his inappropriate coaching practices…

INVERCARGILL, NEW ZEALAND - OCTOBER 08:  Anthony Peden, New Zealand Sprint Head Coach, looks on during the Oceania Track Cycling Championships on October 8, 2015 in Invercargill, New Zealand.  (Photo by Dianne Manson/Getty Images)

  An Independent review recently revealed a shocking culture of alcohol, sex and bullying in the high performance track programme at Cycling New Zealand.   In June Michael Heron QC carried out an independent review after allegations of a dangerous culture in Cycling New Zealand’s high performance programme began to…

tour of turkey

  Irish rider, Sam Bennett of Bora-Hansgrohe capped of an eventful racing season with an impressive victory in Tour of Turkey’s final stage.   The 27-year-old picked up a total of three stage victories in the tournament including the final stage race which was held in Istanbul.   He also…


Race Calendars