Chris Froome finally makes up time on his rivals after crash on TTT
Home » Magazine » Cycling » Chris Froome finally makes up time on his rivals after crash on TTT

Chris Froome finally makes up time on his rivals after crash on TTT

team sky chris froome 2018 tour de france


Even though Team Sky failed miserably to win the Team Time Trial on Saturday and four-time Tour de France winner’s crash, Chris Froome was able to finally make up some time on his rivals.


During yesterday’s 35.5km stage however, Team Sky were sadly beaten into second place by BMC team clocking a time of 38:46, only four seconds ahead of Team Sky. Now BMC has put Olympic champion Van Avermaet into the big yellow jersey for today’s fourth stage.


On the other hand, Team Sky’s bad luck continued with Geraint Thomas missing out on the yellow jersey by only three seconds after starting the third stage in sixth place in the general classification.


“Just going on the feeling, I think we can be pretty happy. We gave it everything we had and it all went pretty much to plan. You can never tell who is going to be on a good day or not, but all in all it worked out well for us,” Froome said.


“Obviously the Tour didn’t start too well with the crash on stage one but that’s bike racing. We’ll take it day by day. One day you gain, one day you lose. That’s the nature of the game,” he added.



Tour de France 2018: Third stage brief results


1 BMC Racing Team – 38m 46s

2 Team Sky 38:50

3 Quick-Step Floors 38:53

4 Mitchelton-Scott 38:55

5 Team Sunweb 38:58

6 EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale 39:21

7 Bora-Hansgrohe 39:36

8 Astana Pro Team 39:38

9 Katusha-Alpecin 39:39

10 Movistar Team 39:40


General Classification so far


1 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team – 9:08:55

2 Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team

3 Geraint Thomas (Gbr) Team Sky +3s

4 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors +5

5 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors +7

6 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors +7

7 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb +11

8 Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb +11

9 Michael Matthews (Aus) Team Sunweb +11

10 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe +34


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  North Star Grand Prix is finally hosting the UCI women’s race in 2019 after taking a year-long hiatus. The racing event is expected to be held concurrently with the men’s USA Cycling Pro Road Tour race. It will last for five days from June 12 to June 16.  …


  Australian rider Rohan Dennis will lead BMC Racing into the team time trial at the upcoming UCI Road World Championships. Dennis only recently claimed victory in two time trials at the Vuelta a Espana, now his team is hopeful to recreate the 2015 victory under the leadership of the…

van aert

  Wout van Aert is riding solo in the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup’s opening rounds in Wisconsin, USA, after revealing that he is no longer Veranda’s Willems Crelan. The Cyclo-cross world champion ended his contract with the team due to a lack of cooperation among the teammates.   While talking…


  Nairo Quintana of Movistar is planning to race in the 2019 season of Tour de France. The cycling team has yet to reveal the duration of Nairo’s program or the names of teammates who will accompany him to the tour.   The Colombian cyclist placed eighth in Vuelta a…


Race Calendars