Breaking: Chris Froome wins Giro d’Italia 2018!
Home » Magazine » Cycling » Breaking: Chris Froome wins Giro d’Italia 2018!

Breaking: Chris Froome wins Giro d’Italia 2018!

Froome giro d'italia 2018


Team Sky’s champion Chris Froome has just become the third rider in the cycling history to have ever won three consecutive Grand Tours after claiming this season’s Giro d’Italia in epic final stage which ended an hour ago in Rome, Italy.


Froome, 33, beat Briton Simon Yates after leading the race in pink jersey for several stages until Four-time Tour de France winner stole his position in an impressive performance on stage 19 and 20.


Froome was able to finish today’s final stage 46 seconds ahead of defending champ Tom Dumoulin in the overall classification.


“For any cyclist this is the dream to have all three leaders’ jerseys in the 10 months. To have finally won this race, I can’t quite believe it myself,” Froome told Eurosport a while ago.


Simon Yates on the other hand, who led the tour after claiming three stage victories, finished 22nd in the overall classification as Ireland’s Sam Bennett grabbed final stage’s win to seal three stage wins on his own.


Final Stage Brief Results


Sam Bennett (Ire/BORA) –  2hrs 50mins 49secs


Elia Viviani (Ita/Quick-Step) Same


Jempy Drücker (Lux/BMC) Same


Baptiste Planckaert (Bel/Katusha) Same


Manuel Belletti (Ital/Androni) Same


Sacha Modolo (Ita/EF) Same


Niccolò Bonifazio (Ital/Merida) Same


Clément Venturini (Fra/AG2R) Same


Paolo Simion (Ita/Bardiani) Same


Fabio Sabatini (Ita/Quick-Step) Same


Overall standings of Giro d’Italia 2018


Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky)- 86hrs 11mins 50secs


Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Team Sunweb) +46 seconds


Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana Pro Team)


Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Movistar Team)


Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita/Bahrain-Merida)


Pello Bilbao (Spa/Astana Pro Team)


Patrick Konrad (Aut/Bora-Hansgrohe)


George Bennett (Nzl/Team Lotto NL-Jumbo)


Sam Oomen (Ned/Team Sunweb)


Davide Formolo (Ita/Bora)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

richie porte tour de suisse

  Richie Porte has just won this season’s Tour de Suisse grabbing what he’s called his ‘biggest victory’ so far!   Yesterday’s final stage of the tour was won by Stefan Küng who was able to clock the fastest time of less than 40 minutes, only 19 seconds ahead of…

richie porte tour de suisse

  BMC Racing’s Richie Porte has just extended his Tour de Suisse lead beating several of his Tour de France rivals including Movistar’s Nairo Quintana.   Porte, was able to extend his GC lead 32 seconds over Sunweb’s Kelderman and Omen with an impressive attack during the final, harder climb…

lotto soudal

Belgian squad is forbidden to use the famous ‘aero’ gel at this season’s Tour de Suisse which only started a couple of days ago.   Apparently, it all started when the gel was too visible on Lotto Soudal cyclists’ legs during last week’s Criterium du Dauphine. The gel is sprayed…

Geraint Thomas

  Team Sky’s Geraint Thomas has just won this season’s Criterium du Dauphine bringing to the British team the sixth victory during the last eight years.   Thomas was able to win the event with an overall time of 24 hours, 43 minutes and 12 seconds, after taking second place…


Race Calendars