2023 Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon - Sunday ~ Results ::


Alcatraz Triathlon :
Triathlon : Swim 1.5 Miles, Bike 18 Miles, Run 8 Miles
  • Race Date: Sunday, June 11, 2023
  • Location:Marina Green
  • Address: 500 Marina Blvd
  • City/State/Zip:San Francisco, California 94123
  • Country: USA

2023 Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon:

More than 2,000 triathletes from around the globe will invade the streets and waters of San Francisco for the 2023 Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon. Triathletes will embark on a grueling 1.5-mile swim from Alcatraz Island to the shoreline of Marina Green, an 18-mile twisting bike ride through the Presidio, and an 8-mile trail run out to Baker Beach and up the grueling 200-plus step sand ladder. The infamous history of the island as an inescapable federal prison illuminates a mysterious challenge to athletes worldwide -- the chance to “Escape from Alcatraz.”

-:- Race History

This year’s event will also feature the annual ESCAPE Aquathlon on Saturday, June 10. This new swim/run short course race is designed to provide more athletes with an opportunity to experience the thrill of the ESCAPE. Staying true to the triathlon’s storied start, athletes will jump from a boat to begin their 750-meter swim, exit the water at the St. Francis Yacht Club and take off on a 5k run along the San Francisco Bay Trail to finish their ESCAPE at Marina Green.

-:- USAT Sanctioned Event 

Course Information:

• 1.5 mile icy cold open water swim from Alcatraz Island to the San Francisco shoreline.
• 18 mile hilly bike ride through the Presidio.
• Eight mile road & trail run through Golden Gate Recreational Area.

-:- Course Map - with videos
-:- Course Map - pdf

Kemper among leaders headed for bike transition. (2010)

On the bike course with a "Golden Gate" back drop.

About 2 miles into the run course, what fun awaits ...

Yes, this is part of the run course.


-:- Swim Start - Alcatraz Island 
-:- Swim Finish - Crissy Field East Beach 

-:- Marina Green - Transition Area / Finish Line

Other Info:

Fans can experience the excitement of both races first-hand at the Marina Green, where the swim ends, and the athlete transition area and finish line are easily visible. Spectators are also invited to enjoy the free ESCAPE Fitness Festival & Expo throughout the weekend featuring race festivities, interactive displays, food trucks, a beer garden and more.

-) 2024 Race Information 

2023 Results:

Previous Results:

1981 - 2022 Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon Results:
2022 Results at:
 raceresults360.com / Mobile / AthLinks 
2021 Results at: escapealcatraztri.com or athlinks.com 
2020 Results: Cancelled Due To Covid-19
2019 Results at: escapealcatraztri.com or athlinks.com / Race Report
2018 Results at: escapealcatraztri.com or athlinks.com / Race Report 
2017 Results at: escapealcatraztri.com or athlinks.com / Race Report 
2016 Results at: escapealcatraztri.com or athlinks.com / Race Report 
2015 Results at: escapealcatraztri.com or athlinks.com
2014 Results at: onlineraceresults.com or athlinks.com
2013 Results at: raceresults360.com or athlinks.com
2012 Results at: onlineraceresults.com or athlinks.com
2011 Results at: onlineraceresults.com or athlinks.com ...

2010 Results at: onlineraceresults.com or athlinks.com  - 2010 race photos
2009 Results at: onlineraceresults.com / athlinks.com / archive.org
2008 Results at: athlinks.com 
2007 Results at: onlineraceresults.com or athlinks.com 
2006 Results at: onlineraceresults.com or athlinks.com 
2005 Results at: onlineraceresults.com or athlinks.com 
2004 Results at: onlineraceresults.com or athlinks.com 
2003 Results at TriFind.com: Overall / Male / Female / Pro / Relay / Searchable 
2002 Results at: athlinks.com 
2001 Results at: athlinks.com 

2000 Results: Pro / Indiv / Relay / Search / Menu / Photos 
1999 Results: Pro / Indiv / Relay / Menu 
1998 Results: Pro - May 31 / August 15 
1997 Results at: TriFind.com 
1996 Results at TriFind.com: Pro

1981-1995 Alcatraz Triathlon Race Winners:

	Male		  Female
1995 Simon Lessing 	Michellie Jones
1994 Mike Pigg		Sian Welch
1993 Mike Pigg		Paula Newby Frasier
1992 Greg Welch		Paula Newby Frasier
1991 Mike Pigg		Paula Newby Frasier
1990 Mike Pigg		Terri Schneider
1989 Scott Tinley	Marsha White
1988 Peter Lewandowski	Alisia Steinhardt
1987 Peter Lewandowski	Cynthia Nesvig
1984 Lester Waddel	Erin Porter
1983 Charlie Graves	Claire McRae
1982 Dave Horning	Claire McRae
1981 Dave Horning			

And of course the world famous sand stairs.

Race Reviews

Be the first to add a review for this event.

Add Your Review

Race Photos

No photos entered yet.

Add Your Event Photo