Paris-Nice 2018: Arnaud Démare wins first stage in photo finish
Home » Magazine » Cycling » Paris-Nice 2018: Arnaud Démare wins first stage in photo finish

Paris-Nice 2018: Arnaud Démare wins first stage in photo finish

paris nice 2018 demare

FDJ’s Arnaud Démare claimed the opening stage victory at this season’s Paris-Nice race in a photo finish sprint over Gorka Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida).


The Frenchman also won the last year’s opening stage and stage two in 2016. With the today’s opening stage victory, the champion was able to earn a 10 second bonus. 4 seconds ahead of Izagirre in the overall classification and 6 seconds ahead of Laporte .



“I thought I was second, I wasn’t expecting it so when they told me I’d won it was an explosion of joy. I was sure I was second, I threw my bike more in despair than anything,” Démare said.


“At the end you’re not lucid at all, so when they told me I’d won it was extraordinary. It’s my first win, and to do it like that… it burned, it burned, but I never gave up. I’m super happy to win in front of my fan club and my family who are here. It’s perfect.”


Sadly, a sudden crash in the first 2.5 kilometers reduced the competition by taking out several big names, some of them include Katusha-Alpecin’s Ilnur Zakarin and Astana’s Jakob Fuglsang.



First Stage Results


Paris-Nice 2018, opening stage: Chatou to Meudon, 135 kilometers


Arnaud Démare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ, in 3-07-39

Gorka Izagirre (Esp) Bahrain-Merida

Christophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis

Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto-Soudal

Mike Teunissen (Ned) Team Sunweb

Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors, all same time

Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 2 secs

Dylan Teuns (Bel) BMC Racing

Matteo Trentin (Ita) Mitchelton-Scott

Ion Izagirre (Esp) Bahrain-Merida, at same time


General classification so far


Arnaud Démare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ, in 3-07-29

Gorka Izagirre (Esp) Bahrain-Merida, at 4 secs

Christophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis, at 6 secs

Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto-Soudal, at 10 secs

Mike Teunissen (Ned) Team Sunweb, at 10 secs

Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors, at 10 secs

Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 12 secs

Dylan Teuns (Bel) BMC Racing, at 12 secs

Matteo Trentin (Ita) Mitchelton-Scott, at 12 secs

Ion Izagirre (Esp) Bahrain-Merida, at same time, at 12 secs


Posted on Categories Cycling, News & StoriesTags , , , , , , , ,
Would you like to write with us? got some interesting stories and experiences you would like to share? please email them to [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

vuelta a espana

  Vuelta a Espana race director, Javier Guillen, is now asking for a resolution of the delicate Salbutaol case Froome has been involved to after last year’s Spanish tour where his adverse analytical results indicated twice the allowed amount of this asthma drug in his urine.   Guillen has said…

USA Cycling national championships

  This week, the country’s professional cyclists and best amateur ones are now ready to bring the next USA Cycling National Championships challenge to Knoxville’s demanding routes for the second year and the fans are already super excited about it.   USA Cycling, which includes BMX, mountain bike, cyclo-cross, road…

richie porte tour de suisse

  Richie Porte has just won this season’s Tour de Suisse grabbing what he’s called his ‘biggest victory’ so far!   Yesterday’s final stage of the tour was won by Stefan Küng who was able to clock the fastest time of less than 40 minutes, only 19 seconds ahead of…

richie porte tour de suisse

  BMC Racing’s Richie Porte has just extended his Tour de Suisse lead beating several of his Tour de France rivals including Movistar’s Nairo Quintana.   Porte, was able to extend his GC lead 32 seconds over Sunweb’s Kelderman and Omen with an impressive attack during the final, harder climb…


Race Calendars