Froome continues to widen his lead as he wins stage 16’s time trial

Almost there! Froome continues to widen his lead as he wins stage 16’s time trial in Vuelta a Espana



Britain’s rider has just gotten one step closer to the big victory after winning yesterday’s stage 16’s time trial.


Chris Froome, 32, aims to win this year’s Vuelta a Espana and become the third rider to have ever won two Grant Tours at the same season.


Team Sky’s rider proved everyone how much he deserves the big victory after making everyone witness an impressive performance as he completed the 40.2-kilometer course in only  47 minutes!


Now, Froome leads Italian Nibali by almost two minutes (one minute and 58 seconds), as the Dutch rider moved to the third place in the overall classification.


Italian rider, Vincenzo Nibali had to begin yesterday’s time trial stage one minute and one second behind champion Froome. However, after giving a strong performance he ended up only 57 seconds slower than the Tour of France winner finishing third.


“The course suited Froome but you still have to time it well and he showed again why he is considered to be one of the world’s best time triallists today,” – Dave Brailsford, Team Sky boss told Eurosport.


“But there are still some really hard stages coming up, the climbs are so steep and intense that there is no time to relax. It’s a difficult day tomorrow, and for the guys who went full today, we’ll see how that impacts on them.”



Stage 16 time trial results


Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) 47mins


Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Team Sunweb) +29secs


Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) +57secs


Ilnur Zakarin (Rus/Katusha-Alpecin) +59secs


Alberto Contador (Spa/Trek-Segafredo) Same time


Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe/FDJ) +1min 07secs


Wout Poels (Ned/Team Sky) +1min 11secs


Lennard Kaemna (Ger/Team Sunweb) +1min 30secs


Bob Jungels (Lux/Quick-Step Floors) +1min 41secs


Daniel Oss (Italy / BMC Racing Team) +1min 49secs



Overall classification of Vuelta a Espana so far


Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) 62hrs 53mins 25secs


Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) +1min 58secs


Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Team Sunweb) +2mins 40secs


Ilnur Zakarin (Rus/Katusha-Alpecin) +3mins 07secs


Alberto Contador (Spa/Trek-Segafredo) +4mins 58secs


Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana Pro Team) +5mins 25secs


Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana Pro Team) +6mins 27secs


Wout Poels (Ned/Team Sky) +6mins 33secs


Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica-Scott) +6mins 40secs


Michael Woods (Can/Cannondale-Drapac) +7mins 06secs



Posted on Categories Cycling, News & StoriesTags , , , , , , , , ,
Would you like to write with us? got some interesting stories and experiences you would like to share? please email them to [email protected]

  Chantal Blaak wins women’s World Championships Road race as Gardfoot and Dideriksen took silver and bronze respectively.   Blaak soloed to today’s race victory in the elite women’s World Championships road race that is currently taking place in Bergen. First place comes right after Blaak’s Dutch team had an…

Dangerous cycling

  Apparently, a 1861 law is the only act that can convict cyclists who cause any type of harm to others. However, there have been several high-profile accidents involving cyclists. They have now created a strong and national-wide debate on the available laws that cover this disturbing issue.   This week,…

Tom Dumoulin

  Tom Dumoulin from Netherlands just claimed his first individual time trial victory at the World Road Cycling Championships. This title came right after his Giro d’Italia victory back in May 2017.   “I can’t believe it, wow, it’s really amazing,” said Dumoulin. “I had such a good day I…


  The UCI has officially announced its decision to approve the reduction of the size of the teams for every international men’s road competition starting from 2018.   Now, the maximum number of riders for each team will be 7 riders. On the other hand, the Grand Tours; Giro d’Italia,…


Race Calendars