World champion Peter Sagan takes victory of BinckBank Tour’s opening

World champion Peter Sagan takes victory of BinckBank Tour’s opening stage

Peter Sagan


Bora-Hansgrohe’s rider, Peter Sagan, after a long and harsh sprint to the finish line, was able to take the victory of the opening stage of BinckBank Tour 2017 that finishes on August 13.


Once again, team Sunweb’s German rider, Phil Bauhaus, had to settle for second place after an impressive performance that put him just a second behind Sagan.


On the other hand, team Orica-Scott’s rider, Magnus Cort Nielsen took third place of the stage while sprint favorites Elia Viviani from Team Sky, Andre Greipel from Lotto-Soudal and Marcel Kittel from Quick-Step Floors found themselves out of the race’s heat.


After the opening stage, Sagan admitted to not being sure he could win the race due to the strong competition. “I was very lucky in the finish, because I was certain that I’d been passed on the line, but I took the win purely because I threw my bike at the last second,” he said. “I didn’t even know I’d won until five minutes later.”


Results of BinckBank Tour 2017, stage one (From Breda to Venray)


Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe, in 3-50-09

Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Team Sunweb

Magnus Cort Nielsen (Den) Orica-Scott

Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo

Boy van Poppel (Ned) Terk-Segafredo

Rick Zabel (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin

Wouter Wippert (Ned) Cannondale-Drapac

Jonas Rickaert (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise

André Greipel (Ger) Lotto-Soudal

Edward Planckaert (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise, all same time



General classification after stage one


Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe, in 3-49-59

Laurens De Vreese (Bel) Astana, at 1 sec

Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Team Sunweb, at 4 secs

Elmar Reinders (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse-Loterij, at 5 secs

Magnus Cort Nielsen (Den) Orica-Scott, at 6 secs

Mark McNally (GBr) Wanty-Groupe Gobert, at 6 secs

Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo, at 10 secs

Boy van Poppel (Ned) Terk-Segafredo, at 10 secs

Rick Zabel (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin, at 10 secs

Wouter Wippert (Ned) Cannondale-Drapac, at 10 secs



Vuelta a Espana Chris Froome

  “I’ve lost a Vuelta before by 13 seconds so I’m going to fight for every second I can at this point’ – Team Sky’s Chris Froome told in an interview right after the today’s stage three.   Froome is the official leader of Vuelta a Espana so far. His…

cyclassics hamburg

  Team Sky’s man, Elia Viviani, was the one to win through the chaotic yet intense sprint of the EuroEyes Cyclassics Hamburg. Viviani crossed the finish line only a few seconds ahead of Arnaud Demare from FDJ and Dylan Groenewegen from LottoNL-Jumbo. They both ended up taking the second and…

Tour of Britain

  One of the most important stages of the major British cycling race is officially set to start in a town that is known to have banned every ordinary cyclist from riding on its streets…   Among many other cyclists to compete is also Mark Cavendish. They will set off…


  You can do it! No one can ever doubt it. If you decide to do an Ironman, then anything is possible, you can even win that thing even though it might be the first time you get do it. Well, we don’t want to demoralize you, but, it’s best…


Race Calendars